University of Georgia

The University of Georgia Club Cycling Team (UGACC) promotes the sport of cycling by giving students at the university the opportunity to learn about the sport and the competition that is involved with it. UGACC endorses values such as leadership, teamwork, and persistence that are eminent to the sport of cycling and valuable to everyday life. Our goal as a team is to spread enthusiasm for cycling across the community by giving people the opportunity to participate in one of the greatest sports in the world. ### UGACC History UGACC was founded in 1988 and the team attended the first Collegiate National Cycling Championships in 1989, at Colorado Springs, CO. The team has been consistently ranked in the top ten schools at collegiate road nationals for a decade and a half. Numerous successes have also come in inter-collegiate track cycling and mountain biking competition, both at the conference and national levels. The club has been student run since its inception and is supervised by Faculty Advisor Jim Kastner. The club is one of fourty-four clubs that operate out of the Club Sports Program administered by the Department of Recreational Sports. Although not a varsity sport at UGA, the racing members of the club compete in nationally sanctioned inter-collegiate events. In addition to competitive endeavors the club has promoted cycling as a healthy recreation for the student and employee community at UGA. Many professional cyclists and lifelong cycling enthusiasts alike got their start in the UGA cycling club. The club has been open to the entire UGA community, however eligibility for competition requires enrollment in an undergraduate or graduate program. Club alumni have gone on to become successful teachers, scientists, artists, coaches, doctors, attorneys, psychologists, career students, entrepreneurs, business men and women and other contributors to society. ### Competition The University of Georgia Cycling Team competes in the Southeastern Collegiate Cycling Conference (SECCC) in the Road (Spring), Mountain (Fall), and Cyclocross (Fall) disciplines. The conference, following the Collegiate Rulebook from USA Cycling, divides the men into four categories (A, B, C, D), and two categories for the women (A, B). These divisions ensure that anybody at any skill-level can have the opportunity to compete with other collegiate cyclists. For more information see and